“What’s this book Mama got from the library? Have a New Kid by Friday? Hmmm…. I need to check this out.”

“You can’t be reading this for me? Right, Mama? I’m the perfect little one. I never throw a fit because I want a cookie. Unless really necessary, you know…”

“Hah! You must have checked this out to deal with Big Sissie Beanie! She’s had you on the run lately, hasn’t she? Fun times! Well, for us, anyway…”

“I like this book, Mama! But, I have a feeling if I could actually read, I wouldn’t like it at all…. because it’s going to take away our fun, isn’t it? Oh, Beanie, aren’t you worried?”

“Don’t bug me, kid. I’m making my Christmas list.”

 

Parents out there, I’m loving the book Have a New Kid by Friday by Kevin Leman! I like the two kids I have, but I don’t like the attitude and disobedience that’s cropping up. I don’t like having every day a battle. I heard about this book and found it at the library. It looks long, but most of the book is actually a topical appendix on a variety of subjects. The main portion of the book is only about 1/3 of it. Short chapters detail new changes in parenting for each day of the week. I read it in one night. (I’m ready for new behaviors!) The next morning, instead of being late somewhere and having to say “put on your shoes put on your shoes put on your shoes why don’t you have your shoes on come here and let me comb your hair no I said come here don’t run away again stop squirming I am going to comb your hair now put on your shoes,” we got dressed calmly and were EARLY.

Some people are convinced that mab being early is a sure sign of the coming apocalypse.

So…. whether your kid is 2 or 12, read this book if you want some wisdom. Short and funny. And it works.

My buddy Jenna asked me to start rating my book list in the sidebar. I think I can do that. For now, I’ll do a rating of 1 – 5. Here’s the breakdown:

0 = This stinks so bad I won’t even rate it. Only worth using as a coaster.

1 = I didn’t like it.

2 = I finished it because I can’t stand not to finish a book, but I won’t read it again and won’t recommend it to anyone.

3 = Nice book.

4 = Yeah, this was good. I’m glad I read it. I’ll recommend it to others.

5 = When I am queen of the world, I will require all of my subjects to read this book.

 

So, for the first rating….. Have a New Kid by Friday by Kevin Leman….. 4!

