A few months ago, Peanut began saying “Babu” and pointing to her pacifier. Apparently she pronounces paci as babu. At least one letter is right…. Sigh…. She also calls the choo-choo train ggggnnuuu ggnnnuu. It’s very gutteral and hardly vowelly.

But this is about Babus. Today we started The Great Babu Takeaway of 2010. See, Bean still sleeps with a paci. Yes, she is now 3 years old. But, I didn’t want to tackle taking it away from her while Peanut (aged 19 months) still had hers. We knew it was time for Peanut to make the transition, but we waited for a time that was good to wean them both at the same time.

We waited until school was out, major traveling was done, and no one was sick. Then, last night, I snuck all of the babus away and snipped a tiny end off. (The last sentence of this post will be read by Bean & Peanut about 25 years from now and instantly send them into therapy. Sorry, girls! Mama loves you! I did it for you, really!)

Let’s just say that going to sleep tonight was … rough. Peanut cried and repeatedly threw her babus out of the crib. She finally settled down. FINALLY. She’s still sucking on the broken babu in a sad and pathetic way. (Grandparents, please resist the urge to go buy new babus! She will make it through this! I may not, but she will!) Bean said all of her pacis had holes in them and she didn’t want them. She wanted a new one. I told her all of them were broken. I told her if she really wanted to suck on something, she could suck her thumb. (Hey, I did it for 7 years… no braces… no recurring issues…. well…) She looked at me like I was crazy and hollered “I WANT SOMETHING TO SUCK THAT IS NOT MY FINGER!”

This makes me remember a Bean story from awhile back. When she was first talking, she couldn’t say any consonant blends. So, letter groupings like st, tr, pl, or sh dropped the second letter. Truck was tuck, plane was pane, and stuck was suck. We were in the store and she was in the shopping cart. She didn’t want to be in the shopping cart. But, I had her buckled in. She wailed and struggled and in the most pathetic way possible she cried, “Mama! I suck! I suck!” She definitely sounded like a 2 year old with major self-esteem issues.

Another random Bean language story: When I was still preggie with Peanut, I took Beanie to Target to shop. We were walking down the aisle by the mens clothing. We were right by the mens PJs and underwear when… (Wait… I should warn you that this following story isn’t family friendly. If you are under 18 or prone to extreme propriety, you should quit reading. In fact, if you’re prone to propriety I’m not sure why you read my blog at all… Anyway….) We’re walking by the mens underwear when Bean hollers out “BALLS! Mama, BALLS!!!” She points at the display of mens bikini briefs. I could die. We don’t use that word for that reason! Then, I realized she was trying to point at the huge display of playground balls about 30 feet down the aisle. She had not learned inappropriate words for … um …. well… anyway. She only had inappropriate timing.

(Now that she’s read this 25 years in the future, she will be heading to even more therapy. Peanut will be going to more therapy because I didn’t tell stories about her. Even though I’ll tell her it’s because she’s not really talking yet, she’ll claim it’s because she’s the younger child and I don’t love her as much. Nothing I can do will ease their angst because I’m the mom and they are the daughters. Sigh…. I guess I should go put some money aside for their future therapy bills…)

Meanwhile, you can pray that these children sleep and ditch their babus quickly!

