My Mama and Daddy are up in Hershey, Penn right now moving my bro. He’s headed to Chicago for the next stint of his medical training. I think he’ll finish with all of his residencies, fellowships, internships, and trainingships sometime in the spring of 2020. (That’s what you get for choosing to be a surgeon, Bubbie! Perpetual school!)

Ahem. I digress.

A few weeks ago I got to go visit my fam while RayRay was on a trip overseas. My girls love Chick-fil-A. So, I knew we’d go there at least once for them. Sure, we have a Chick-fil-A here in NOLA, but that doesn’t matter to them. They’d do a cross-country tour of Chick-fil-As if they could.

There’s two CfAs in my hometown. One in the mall and a freestanding one. We had to go to the mall one. Why? Because Bubba Hen (my bro) had a coupon for a free Spicy Chicken Sandwich that was only good at the mall. Sure, my dad would be paying for us anyway so it would be free no matter what, but there’s one thing you need to know about the Hen family: If you have a coupon, YOU MUST USE IT. Or a rebate. Or any kind of DEAL.

To make up for us going to the mall that did not have an indoor playground, we let the girls take their strollers and their baby dolls. It was rather adorable. Wish I had my camera. But didn’t.

After we sat down, Papa Hen (my Daddy) said that if we ate a good lunch, we could get ice cream.  But, we had to drive 15 minutes to the freestanding Chick-fil-A to get the ice cream. Why? Because he had some coupons that were only good at that one.

Yes, we were going to drive across town to another franchise of the same restaurant to get $1 ice cream cones for the kids because we had a coupon. We could have gone to that establishment in the beginning, but we had to go to the mall first so my brother could get a free sandwich. After all, he had a coupon.

We ended up skipping the ice cream because Bean had an absolute kicking-and-screaming-on-the-floor-tantrum in the arcade across from CfA. *sigh* Next time, we will get that ice cream. And, we will not be going to the mall first.

