I’m a barefooter. When I was a teacher, I kicked off my shoes and ran around in my socks most of the time. (Not barefoot…. it was a 2nd grade classroom. They’re cute, but do you know how gross those kids are? I was NOT stepping on any mystery items in that room.) Now, I leave my shoes by the door. So, I always have a few pairs of houseshoes around.

Yesterday I was cleaning out the girls’ closet. Old clothes into boxes, new clothes sorted. Old shoes out, new sizes in. Well, Peanut has a bunch of hand-me-downs from Beanie that she can now wear. Including a pair of house shoes. I gave them to her and she put them on. Bean got upset and wanted to know where hers were. “You’re too big for those now,” I said. She was upset and I promised to look for some at the store. “When?” she asked. (Patience is still being learned around here…) I knew that it would be next to impossible to find little girl house shoes in June in New Orleans (summer motto: It’s Hotter Than a Fish Fry!), so I asked if she wanted me to make her a pair. She nodded happily.

So, after they went to bed and we cleaned up the kitchen, I set to work finding a pattern. Then, I found some scraps of fabric and went to work.

The first pair was so wretched that I threw it into the scrap bin. Wretched, I tell you. It’s a good thing my camera battery is dead and I can’t take any pictures or you’d run away from this blog screaming.

So, although it was almost midnight, I started over. I had promised my precious girl some slippers! I was going to deliver! I dug out more fabric and went to work. The result was great! I was so pleased! I snuck into her room and put them down by her bed so she’d find them in the morning. And, even though it was almost 1:30 in the morning by this time (yes, the slippers gave me 1 1/2 hours of grief), I went to bed knowing that I had done something that my precious, wonderful, sweet, lovely, delightful daughter would love.

Um… yeah.

She tried them on, declared that they weren’t right, and threw them aside. Sigh.

Later that day, I showed her how to slip them on and keep them on and she wore them around for approximately 15 minutes before she had an accident and peed all over them. Sigh.

They are now in the washing machine.

Well, at least I got a good afternoon nap.

