It was tax day 4 years ago that the mab Blab started. I didn’t even realize that the anniversary of this little spot o’ piffle had passed until this week. Four years? Really? Thanks to all of my friends who encouraged me to keep on writing — first because you wanted to hear stories of our life overseas, and then because you like to laugh at me. (Not with me. I know you’re laughing at me. Especially Cliffy.)

I have nothing earth-shattering or meaningful to write in honor of this anniversary month. But, I will tell you (once again) something that Beanie said. Partly because it’s funny and partly to dispell all rumors.

As I picked her up this week from childcare at our church, the following conversation ensued with her teachers:

Teacher: Are you going to have a baby?

mab: Um, no….?

Teacher: (looking embarrassed and turning red) Oh! Well, Bean told us today that you’re going to have another baby because the one y’all have is getting old.

Peanut, it looks like you’re out of vogue. You’re old. You’re outdated. Bean is looking to replace you. I told Beanie that I wasn’t going to have a baby and please don’t tell people that (or they’ll mistake my belly chub for a baby bump), but if she really wants a new baby, she can pray and maybe in 3 years God will answer her prayer.

Now, here’s links to some of my personal favorite posts over the years… More than one of them involve my fat belly.

Umbrellas, Steeples, Circumcisions, and Other Junk

Observations of mab by a National Geographic Researcher to His Supervisor

Belly Buddy Bravely Brings Banter by Beach Bake-Off

Pretty Pie Pilfered at Potluck…. Pregnant Proprietress Provoked (Can you tell I’m a sucker for long alliterative phrases that attempt to be witty?)

Tickers Galore

Ramblings and then How Spider Woman is Like Potiphar’s Wife

“You Had Me at Butt Charades…”

Bleepin’ Beep

Thanks for still reading, my lovelies!

