It doesn’t feel like January 2nd. We just had Christmas yesterday. Literally.

I love how my family does Christmas. We drag it out for weeks. On the real Christmas day, RayRay & I celebrated with his family. Then, the next day we traveled to my hometown.  A couple of days later my brother arrived and we had Christmas with my extended family on my mom’s side. Then yesterday my dad’s family arrived and we had another celebration with them. There will actually be one more…. my uncle comes in next week and my folks will celebrate again. Too bad I’ll miss that one.

I’ll realize it’s a new year sometime in February.

In case you didn’t notice the annoucement in my booklist, I made my goal! By the hair of my chinny chin chin! (Actually, my chin is hairless. I may have wild, uncontrollable eyebrows, but I have not developed chin hair.) On the morning of New Year’s Eve I finished my 18th book. Here’s the final list:

*UPDATE* I actually read one extra! As I was about to close the computer, I remembered that I had finished Mary Modern while on the Great Holiday Sojourn of 2009. It was amazing. I couldn’t put it down. I stayed up until 2 a.m. to finish it. That’s saying something when I knew that Peanut would be awake at 6 a.m. Anyway, I added it in. Now, finish my post, add a comment, and then go find this book to read for yourself!!! ***

mab’s Official List of Books Read in 2009

19. 12 “Christian” Beliefs that Can Drive You Crazy by Henry Cloud and John Townsend

18. I Love It When You Talk Retro: Hoochie Coochie, Double Whammy, Drop a Dime, and the Forgotten Origins of American Speech by Ralph Keyes

17. Mary Modern by Camille DeAngelis (LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT!)

16. Curse of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz (I am eagerly awaiting the release of the next book in this series!!!)

15. McIlhenney’s Gold: How a Louisiana Family Built the Tabasco Empire by Jeffrey Rothfeder

14. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

13. To Own a Dragon by Donald Miller and John MacMurray

12. Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller

11. Boundaries with Kids by Henry Cloud and John Townsend

10. Romancing the Home by Ed Young

9. The Mommy Diaries: Finding Yourself in the Daily Adventure by Tally Flint

8. The Horse and His Boy by C. S. Lewis (My favorite in the Narnia series!)

7. How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privileged Learns to Live Like Everyone Else by Michael Gates Gill

6. Tramp for the Lord by Corrie Ten Boom

5. The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz

4. Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man by Fannie Flagg (LOVE this lady’s stuff!)

3. Blue Shoes & Happiness by Alexander McCall Smith

2. The Good Husband of Zebra Drive by Alexander McCall Smith

1. Mother Nurture: Life Lessons from the Mothers of America’s Best and Brightest by Stephanie Hirsch

Now, what about my goal for this year? I want to set something that is reasonable, but challenging. Gone are the days when I can set a goal to read 40 books in a year. (That was sooo 2007!) Now I have to think of what will be feasible with two small children and some exciting new ideas for my bidniz. (News on that to come soon….!) So, I’ll stick with 18. This means that I will read at least one book a month plus 6 others thrown in there. I feel ok about this since I actually have two books in progress at home. So, they’re really half done. That means I really only have 17 to go. Wait! I started one today and read a whole lot of it — so I actually have about 16 2/3 to go. I can do it.

So, I hereby announce that I will aim for 18 books read in 2010. I’d love to meet that goal in the summer and have to up it. We’ll see about that….

I’ve also changed up my theme here. Let’s think of it as a little New Year’s Cleaning out. I’ll be changing the header in the next few days… but I need to get to my own computer and my own images first.

Happy New Year, my lovelies!

