Well, the good news is that the crafty week went well, despite Bean throwing up all over the craft room. Yes. All over everything. She was coloring nicely at the back when the… um… eruption began. I panicked. Instead of putting a trash can in front of her while she took care of the rest of that… um… business, I picked her up and ran down the hall to the bathroom. Thereby covering myself in puke and the hallway in puke. Ok, so maybe it’s my fault that she puked all over the craft room.

Sigh.

Sorry you had to read that. But I’ll warn you that… um… puke will come up again in this post. But something important is coming along, too…

I came home with a sinus infection from the pit of hades. It put me out of comission. Completely. And then Peanut started to toss her cheerios. (See, I warned you.) Poor RayRay was in the midst of finals and couldn’t take care of all three of us while finishing his last projects/take home tests, so Poppy has arrived to rescue us. And in the midst of this, we have crafted. I made a lot of great gifts, but I’m not going to tell you about them now. Because some of you who read this will get said gifts for Christmas. Hah!

But, now on to the real things on my mind. Something has to change. I stink at this blog. I really really really stink at my bidniz blog. (It stinks. It stinks worse than my hastily-thrown together banner that looks like a 13 year old from the 80’s put together in print shop. The only good parts are what I ganked off of the bidniz cards Britty made me.) And, I’m struggling to find myself in my Etsy shop. It seems to be going in a direction that doesn’t fit me. It chafes like underwear that has been line-dried. Oh yeah, it looks all pretty in the laundry detergent ads and people sniff their towels and talk about the fresh air scent. But that’s crap. When you hang your stuff to dry, it smells like dirt. And, your towels, socks, and undies are as crunchy as an SOS scouring pad. Trust me. That’s how we dried our laundry during our stint overseas. I have never been so grateful for fabric softener as in any other time in my life.

But I once again digress. I’m going to take a bit of a break from my business. Not for long… just a few weeks. I’ll keep my shop open, but I won’t add anything new. I’m going to sew for myself. Finish some projects. Finally make that new purse for me. Learn to do something with the latticework smocking that I’m working on.

And, I’m going to think. Think about combining that blog and this blog. Think about changing my shop name and look. (What was I thinking in giving it a foreign name that no one can seem to pronounce…? Sigh..) I’m going to think about what kinds of projects I want to do and will keep doing in a sustainable way. I’m thinking about more craft fairs and how that could work. I’m thinking of reorganizing (well… just plain organizing) my craft space and getting it out of our over-crowded living room. I’m praying that we miraculously get moved into a 4 bedroom apartment so I’ll have a work room, room to house tables and props needed for a craft fair, and the inventory that would require.

In all of this, I welcome blunt input. From time to time I’ll ask direct questions. Some of you might get e-mails asking specific direct questions. All of you are welcome to tell me anything and everything about my business and the idea of combining these blogs. I know you all come to read the Blab because you want to know about my children puking. What if more of my craftiness comes in? (Double meaning implied and promised.) Will that alienate readers? Does it matter?

So, during this process, I’ll be blogging here and on my other blog, but not in a typical fashion. This will be my clipboard. Great items I’ve found — cool shops — stuff I wish I could make — ideas I have. Then, through the weeks, I’ll look back on everything and see what themes and ideas are forming.

I also haven’t forgotten the veggie/side-dish cook-off! I actually bought broccoli to make one of them. But, we have had one member of the family (or more) sick since the week of Thanksgiving. As primary caretaker (when I’m not sick-in-the-bed patient), I’ve been feeding my famliy whatever I could throw together that won’t stain my rug if it … um … comes back up. I’m sure the broccoli has spoiled. I am saving the recipes and once I return to my house after the Holiday Sojourn of 2009, I’ll start going through them. And, I’ll let you know how they all go. Even the ones with cabbage in them.

Now, must sleep. Thanks for letting me talk. Again, all input is welcome. I may listen or I may nod and smile.

