Well, Peanut is taking after her sister — she spits up all the time. We wash clothes constantly. Here are some other adventures from our first 3 weeks as a family of four:

We think the novelty of a new Tister is growing old for Bean. While RayRay was feeding Peanut a bottle, she took the snow globe (that I thought was out of reach) and dropped it on the floor. My mom was here (thank goodness) since I was otherwise occupied with my buddy Medela. So, Bean went in her room with the gate up, RayRay was in there trying to take care of her and feed Peanut, and I was in my room. Mama had to clean up all the glass, water, and glitter. Bye-bye snow globe.

The next day, while RayRay was holding Peanut, Bean took my glass of cherry kool-aid and spilled it on the couch and our Central Asian hand-made rug. Did it get on the part of the rug that is red? Nope. On the white part. Or, should I say the white with red cherry spots part…. Sigh. The carpet cleaner mostly worked.

My mom is leaving today and there would be weeping and gnashing of teeth except that Aunt Britty is arriving today. Then we’ll have a few days as the 4 of us before the families arrive for Christmas. My mom returns on the 28th for our family’s celebration. I told her she can’t leave again until Peanut is 6 months old. That is, unless one of you wants to come and give her a break…. But I’ll warn you, there is a strangely large amount of laundry for such a small house and such small people….

As for all of you peeps, I hope that you are having a great time as the holidays approach. Another blessing that’s come from Peanut’s early arrival is that we can’t get out and caught up in all of the shopping melee. It’s making us simplify in what we’re giving people and helping us keep focused on family and Christ. Each year I find some person or aspect of the Christmas story that seems to draw my focus. This year, of course, I’ve highly identified with Mary. As I nurse Peanut, I think of what she may have thought. I think about what it was really like for her to have her baby in a dirty stable. I think about the wonder she must have felt looking at a tiny child and remembering the words of the angel Gabriel:  “He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, and he will reign over the house of Jacob forever; his kingdom will never end.”

Merry Christmas!

