This afternoon we went to the park. Then, we tried to find this really good Italian restaurant we’d heard of. We went off in the right direction, but couldn’t quite find it. So, I used Tom Tom and searched for nearby restaurants. We found one that was Italian.

When we pulled in, it wasn’t the same one, but we’d heard of it, so we decided to eat there. We were the only ones inside, but we thought that would be ok. (I was hungry and didn’t want to go find somewhere else.) Well, it turned out to be the perfect place.

After we ordered and were walking back to our table, I overheard the employees talking to one another. I didn’t hear all of their words, but I distinctly heard that they were talking in Central Asian. I wheeled around and looked at the hub. “They’re Central Asian!” I said. He wasn’t sure if I was just hearing things, but then we looked at one guy who was restocking the drinks. He was wearing a shirt from the Big City. There it was, plain as day. Anyway, we struck up a conversation and the entire staff except the register girl ended up being Central Asian.

They also made amazing pizza, complete with Italian sausage, bacon, and other meats that we never could find in Central Asia. I wonder what they think about that….?

Anyway, we talked to them for about a half an hour and they told us they could introduce us to the entire C.A. community here in the Big Easy. We’ve been wanting to meet people, but we didn’t know how. It turns out that we just had to go out for Italian food.

Come see me and we’ll introduce you to our C.A. friends who make amazing pizza. If we’re really nice, maybe they’ll make us some of those other dishes I miss so much. Oh, if they only had manti!

In other news, I’m heading out of town tomorrow to see the fam. I will be gone about a week. I’ll have some computer access, so I can get to my blog. But, I won’t be able to get to my e-mail. Yeah, like that’s a loss. It’s not like I really answer those e-mails anyway. But, e-mail and talk to the hub. He’s staying here without me and without Bean. He’s threatening to spend his evenings at the French Quarter living a bachelor life. I somehow doubt it….

