Some readers have wondered about Fat Tom since I haven’t mentioned him lately. Go read this post to get the  back story.

Today is the community picnic here in RayRay’s hometown. One man told me it’s the only time the Methodists and Baptists socialize. I’m quite interested in seeing the dynamics of a small community when we’re gathered around the potluck table.

I’m bringing a casserole I really like, but haven’t been able to eat for several years. Central Asia is missing all but one of the ingredients. Ok, two, if you count the butter. So, substituting all of the other ingredients doesn’t really work. Anyway, when you first look at the casserole, you think: “What is that?” It’s a bit of a strange concoction. But, it’s very, very tasty. I got the recipe from my buddy LDL when we worked together. (Yay, LDL! Another shout-out for you!) Here’s the thing: The name for this recipe is super long. And unimaginative. So, help me come up with a new one. Here’s the recipe as I make it. (LDL adds water chestnuts. I hate water chestnuts. Yech.)

Black-eyed Pea/Shoepeg Corn Casserole

1 can Black-eyed peas

1 can shoepeg corn (it’s smaller and whiter than normal)

1 can chopped green chilies

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 big ol’ handful of shredded cheddar cheese (about a cup-ish)

* Mix all of this in the casserole pan you’re going to bake it in. Then, mix the following and pour it on top:

1 sleeve of Ritz or Town House crackers, crushed and smooshed

1/2 stick of butter, melted

* Cook this at 350 degrees until bubbly, which is about 20 minutes.

Go make this tasty casserole tonight and then tell me what you think we should call it. Saying “Hey, let’s have Black-Eyed Pea/Shoepeg Corn Casserole tonight!” is quite a mouthful. (Even more so if you, like Britty and Papa Steve, insist on saying “slash” wherever a / is written. That makes it Black-Eyed Pea Slash Shoepeg Corn Casserole. I’m tired from even saying that. Yo.)

In other news, we stayed over at my in-laws last night so I could watch Top Chef. I really like that show. It wasn’t until about 8:30 (after Bean went to sleep in her crib over there) that I realized that it was Tuesday and not Wednesday. I would have to wait 24 1/2 hours until my show came on. Sigh. We gathered up our sleeping child and left.

Now, off to put my casserole in the oven so it will be hot and bubbly for the picnic! Don’t worry, my father’s side of the family is Methodist and my mama’s side is Baptist. I should be able to mix with both crowds without causing too much trouble.

