Today we went to B&N to spend our Christmas book gift certificates. I love books. The hub loves books. This is why we’re together. Sometimes we have date nights where we just sit together and read.

This year I started the list of my books in the side bar. I wanted to see how many I could read. As the year began to wind down, I noticed that I had about 30 books. I decided that I wanted to hit 40 books. I am about 3 chapters away from that goal.

This year it hasn’t been difficult to read 40 books. Some of them were really really really short (no, I didn’t include any children’s books). Some were so interesting that I couldn’t put them down. Then, there was the fact that I was massively pregnant during the hot summer. And, I was in a different town where I didn’t know a lot of people. So, I watched tv, read National Geographics, and read book after book.

I am setting a quite different goal for next year: 25 books. With a young child who will start crawling within the next few months, I think this is a rather ambitious goal. No more reading while she plays quietly (and motionlessly) on her blanket. We’ll see if I make it to 25 in 2008.

For now, you can see all of the books that I read this past year by clicking the tab at the top of the blog. It’s called mab’s Books from 2007. (Or you can click that last phrase. I made it a handy-dandy link just for you.) If you read any of those books, I’d enjoy your comments (both good and bad). Oh, and some of these books I’ve really liked. Some were crap. So, the fact that I read them doesn’t endorse them as good. If you’re curious and want to know more about a particular book, leave me a comment and I’ll let you know more details.

I’d also like your suggestions for next year. I got a ton of books for Christmas (YAY!) and that makes me happy. But, I didn’t get 25 of them. So, I’ll need any recommendations you’ve got.

Now, get off the computer and go read a good book!

