My buddy — the “other” mb — tagged me. I’ve never been tagged before. I feel special & strangely empowered. I also feel pressured to deliver the goods. So, here goes….

The Rules:
1. I have to post these rules before I give you the facts.
2. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
3. People who are tagged need to write their own blog (about their 8 things) and post these rules.
4. At the end of your blog, you need to choose people to get tagged and list their names.
5. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

In addition to all of my other quirks, habits, and random facts that permeate this blog, here’s 8 that I’ll specifically address. At first I couldn’t think of 8 of them, so I asked the hub. He began to list off quite a few quirks. In fact, I had difficulty getting him to stop at 8. I actually had to tell him to stop listing quirky things I do or I would get my feelings hurt and develop a complex. I don’t need any more complexes. Now, without further ado, let’s begin….

mab’s Random Facts/Habits:

1. NO ONE can tickle my feet. I hate it. Really really hate it. In fact, shortly after the hub & I began dating, I made him solemnly swear to never tickle my feet. If anyone tries it, I’ll scream and kick them. For real, I hate it. It’s not a foot-phobia thing at all. I once knew a girl who wouldn’t touch anyone’s feet or let anyone touch hers. That’s not it at all. I love a good foot massage. A pedicure is nice. But tickling? No way.

2. Speaking of things I hate, let’s discuss tooth brushing. Don’t worry, I choose to brush my teeth at least twice daily because I hate cavities and dental work even more, but I hate every minute that I’m brushing my teeth. I often gag during the process. I also brush them quite strangely (according to my brother) with lots of spitting. So, I’m embarrassed to brush my teeth where anyone can hear me. When I first got pregnant, I could hardly brush them without severe nausea. I actually had to use a children’s toothbrush for the duration of my pregnancy and a few weeks postpartum. It was the only way I could get anything done in there. Oh, and I’m super-careful about my toothbrush. It can’t touch anything I think might be dirty or germy. Otherwise, it gets trashed and I get a new one. If it falls in the sink or touches anything, then that’s it. The toothbrush is history. Ok, this is way way way too much about my teeth and brushing. So, I won’t go into my problems with hearing others brush their teeth (makes me gag!), but instead I shall go on to the next quirk.

3. I have a pillow I really love. It’s feather and it’s really old. I love it so much that I brought it overseas with me. A month before the hub & I got married, he revealed his feather allergy to me. I had a moment where I thought about trading him in instead of the pillow. Fortunately, we got an allergy cover for the pillow and the wedding wasn’t called off.

4. If a company or a product makes me mad, I boycott them/it. My buddy Britty really laughs at me for this one. For example, I got mad at Ambercrombie & Fitch a few years ago. So, they’re on the boycott list. Even if someone gives me something that is from Ambercrombie & Fitch, I won’t wear it. There’s other companies on the probation list. I have a bottle of body spray from Victoria’s Secret that’s over 7 years old. It’s my favorite scent, so I won’t use it very often. Why don’t I use it and get more? Because they’re on the boycott list. In my mind, I have very good reasons why I’m boycotting these places. (But, I’ll save those for another post.) Right now I’m considering a new boycott. I’m seriously considering boycotting China. I’ve never chosen an entire country before. But, their human rights record and their actions towards the people of Darfur have made me think twice about the “Made in China” label. The trouble is that everything is made in China. So, I gotta think this one through. (Don’t worry, mb, I’m still glad we imported the Chinese.)

5. I am an intensely loyal person. If you are family or a friend I consider like family, then you’ve got me on your side forever. And, if anyone messes with someone in the above-mentioned category, then I will fiercely oppose them. When I’m opposing anyone/anything and talking big about it, I especially like to use the phrase “It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, it’s the size of the fight in the dog.” I’m also really proud of the fact that I know that quote is from Mark Twain and not a No Fear t-shirt. (Does anyone else remember those?)

6. I have a list of names I can’t stand. Every time I hear a name, it instantly goes into one of three categories: Good, Ok, or Terrible. The category of a person’s name has nothing to do with how I feel about that person. For instance, the name Larry is at the top of my Terrible list, but I know many nice men (and one cucumber) named Larry. I have no problem with them. I also can’t stand the names Dwayne, Jerry, and Darrell. (No offense to all you Dwaynes, Jerrys, and Darrells.) As for the rest of you: Yes, your name is in one of my categories. No, I won’t tell you which one.

7. I really like the comics and I read them every day. Through the Houston Chronicle you can build your own comics page. You go to their site and choose which comics you like. Then, create your page & bookmark it. Every day you can go back to this page and read those comics. If you want to make your own page, look at the sidebar on the right & find the link called “My Daily Read.” Then, click the phrase “build your own comics page.” When a comic makes me laugh out loud, I save it. If it makes me laugh out loud and think of someone in particular, I e-mail it to that person. Best comics: Bizarro by Dan Piraro, Real Life Adventures by Gary Wise & Lance Aldrich, and Pardon my Planet by Vic Lee. Funny, funny stuff.

8. I like to listen to podcasts that tell stories. I like WGBH’s Morning Stories, This American Life from Chicago Public Radio, and NPR’s Most E-mailed Stories (it’s their most popular stories of the day). When I lived in the States, I liked to watch shows like Primetime Live, 20/20, and Dateline for the same reason. In fact, I started watching 20/20 every Friday night with my parents when I was a little kid. Anyway, back to the podcasts…. I listen to these while I’m doing chores around the house & it makes activities like doing laundry much better. I’ll also listen to them in the car, on buses or other public transportation, and at night when I can’t sleep.

So, there’s 8 facts, quirks, or habits of mab. Believe me, there are many more, but isn’t that why y’all read the blog? Who else names her medical conditions and calls her daughter a legume? Who else would use the word legume in a blog post? Yes, my friends, I know it’s the cute pictures of Bean and my many quirks that keep you coming back every day for more….

I now hereby tag PapaSteve, Margie, KLK, and CL. (Britty, I would tag you, but I already know all your quirks. Oh, what the heck…. let the world know your quirks, too.) I hereby tag Britty as well!

