Some major elections are happening soon in our country, so campaigning is at a fever pitch. In America that would mean billboards, bumper stickers, yard signs, and mud-slinging tv commercials. Here it means minivans plastered with pictures of a candidate with the back hatch open to reveal 15 speakers playing music at full blast. And not just any music! Oh, no…. each party has a theme song. There’s the Youth Party, who has a pretty cool theme song. There’s the big Nationalist party who seems to come by more often than anyone. Their song sounds like a commercial jingle. There’s some other old school party that plays old school music. The variety is truly awe inspiring.

These minivans start driving around at about 10 a.m. They don’t quit until about 10 p.m. Sometimes they follow each other around, causing quite a music and ideological clash.  As for the words to the songs, they remind us of the quality of each party, of the amazing things that party has done in the past, and of the political promises for the future. It’s a cheesy political speech set to verse and put to hokey music.

And it’s driving me crazy.

I’ll be glad when the elections are over in a week. I’ll be glad when the minivans go away. I’ll be glad when I can put my daughter down for a nap and she is almost asleep and there isn’t a loud minivan that drives by at that moment to wake her up. I’ll also be glad when they leave because then that silly Nationalist jingle will finally get out of my head…

