And now, for Lydia and others who like to use their blender to make frosty beverages, here’s my smoothie recipe. Just a note: You all know that I’m lazy. Therefore, I don’t use big blenders. I have one of those wand-blenders and I think they’re fabulous. Get one! It will change your cooking life! (I could write a complete post on this. Instead I will tell you that my hand blender is one of my top 10 most important possessions and is worth its weight in gold.)

For those of you who like precise recipes…. sorry. This is a mab recipe. The good thing is that you can’t really get it wrong.

Smoothie

Cut up fruit of your choice (I usually put in at least 1/2 bananna, some strawberries, and whatever else I’ve got on hand).

Add 1 – 2 spoonfuls of plain yogurt (optional).

Add 1 spoonful of sugar (optional).

Add some ice (unless you freeze your fruit — see note below).

Add whatever juice you have on hand, or add some milk (both optional).

Blend.

Note #1: When my fruit is starting to go bad or get mushy, I cut it up and freeze it. Then, about 15 minutes before I want a smoothie, I take out the fruit I need & let it soften slightly. This makes the best smoothies & you don’t need any ice.

Note #2: Obviously, if you leave out all of the optional ingredients, you’ll end up with nothing but mushed fruit. Don’t leave out more than 1 ingredient. But, the nice thing about this recipe is that you don’t have to have everything on hand. If you’re out of juice, use milk. If you’re out of yogurt, skip it. If you like your smoothies sweeter, add more sugar. Really, you can’t screw things up.

Good fruits to use: bananas, strawberries, cherries, any other berries (I’ve never tried grapes…. if you do, let me know how it turns out.)

Fruits that don’t work too well: apples, pears, or other hard fruits (To get these flavors, use that fruit juice in the smoothie.)

Enjoy!

