We have a name picked out for Bean. I’m not willing to say it’s 100% her name until I see her face, but it’s the best name we’ve got. And, I like it, so I think that’s what she’ll get stuck with. (And no, I’m not going to write her name here….. but if you’re very smart and very bored you might figure it out. Or, you can just e-mail me and I’ll tell you.)

Before we started choosing names, my hub made me solemnly promise I wouldn’t select anything from a Jane Austen novel.

Just by chance (honest!), we did anyway.

Today a friend of ours who is here for the summer heard the name we’ve chosen. He said: “Oh! Like in Lord of the Rings!” I was quite confused…. I’ve read the books several times and watched the movies several times and consider myself to be quite knowledgeable about the content of this literary work…. and I don’t remember anyone with this name. Apparently, my knowledge is not as precise as his, though. Bean’s name is a random elvish flower and also the name of one of the main hobbit’s kids.

My hub was quite pleased when he heard this news. LOTR is one of his favorite works of fiction.

My response: I looked down at my belly and apologised to Bean. She had little chance of being popular, cool, or whatever else teenagers are trying to be these days because of who her parents are and because she’s being raised in another culture. Now, I’d say she has no chance. She’s somehow garnered a name that is evocative both of Jane Austen and Lord of the Rings. Her destiny is set. Like her parents, she will become a firmly established literary nerd.

Don’t worry, sweet Beanie! Although your peers may mock you, you’ll be able to look down from your literary high horse and use the words of Dickens, Lewis, Hugo, or even Dostoevsky to deliver a rebuttal. And all of this before they can even pronounce “Dostoevsky.” Your bedtime stories will be Wilkie Collins mysteries and Frederick Buechner novels. And hopefully you’ll like your name. Just in case you don’t, we can always keep calling you Bean.

In other news, with the exception of hemming curtains and stuffing some pillows, the nursery is done. I’ll try to get pictures up soon. And, I also realize that all I’ve posted about lately is Bean. There’s a reason for that: look at the little counter at the top of the screen. I’ve got 30 days to go. 30 days until I become a mom. I don’t really think I’m responsible enough for a driver’s license…. how will I take care of a kid?! I know all will be fine and I’ll get the hang of it. Still, it’s understandably on my mind a lot.

Another reason I’ve been thinking of Bean a lot: We leave in two days for the Big City. We’ll stay there until she makes her debut. So, although I have a month until my daughter arrives, I only have 2 days to have this house completely ready for her. I also have to pack everything that all 3 of us (!!!) will need during our stay. So, for those who are baby-weary, I apologize. But, I don’t see it letting up soon.

Check back later to see if I get those nursery pictures taken and posted or not….

