6chixthanksgiving.gif

We had a Thanksgiving dinner last night for some of our friends. Well, a substitute Thanksgiving dinner. We did have stuffing, which we let them think was homeade (Thank you, Stovetop!) and I did bake 2 chickens. They saw me carving them and remarked on how tender the turkeys were. Ok, now, it was enough trouble for me to order a giant turkey for next week’s Thanksgiving blow-out. I confess that for last night I didn’t even try. I had to tell them “Oh! They didn’t have any turkeys!” That is the absolute truth. They didn’t have any turkeys. And, I didn’t ask for them. Still, roasted chicken, stove-top, potatoes and carrots (cooked with the chicken), devilied eggs, and rolls. No, not the gluttony you normally associate with Thanksgiving, but it was the best we could do. They found the stuffing wierd, and the kids mostly ate the stuffed grape leaves that their mom brought.

Next week, we are planning to uphold our national tradition of gluttony. There will be food galore. And, as I mentioned, I did get a turkey ordered. It’s coming from a city 5 hours south of here and they assure me it will be dead and plucked upon arrival. That’s a good thing. They tried to get me to buy two (since apparently they come 2 to a carton), but I said no. One would be enough. Unless that one is dinky. Then, I guess we’ll get two.  In addition to turkey, we’re having stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, pinto beans (a mab family tradition), green bean casserole, deviled eggs, sweet potato casserole, carrot souffle, rolls, chipped-beef cheeseball (also a mab family tradition — superb with crackers!), other dips and snacky foods, pumpkin pie, pecan pie, chocolate chip cheesecake bars, chocolate chip cookie sandwiches, and pumpkin gooey butter cake.  Do you think it’s enough? Do you wanna come eat with us?

