life, craft, kids, crap…

Daily Archives: May 19, 2012

Lately the dinner prayers have gotten quite passive-aggressive. They go something like this:

Bean: Thank you, God, for Mama & Daddy. Amen.

Peanut: Did you pray for me? Did you pray for me? Pray for me!

Bean: No.

Peanut: Then I won’t ever play with you again.

***

Fast forward to the next night….

***

Peanut: Dear God, thank you for Mimi, Poppy, Grannie, PawPaw, Mama, Daddy, Bean & Peanut. Amen.

Bean: You prayed for me?

Peanut: Yes.

Bean: Good.

***

And the next night….

***

Bean: Thank you, God, for Mama & Daddy. Amen.

Peanut: Did you pray for me? Did you pray for me? Pray for me! PRAY FOR ME!!!!

Bean: No.

Peanut: Then I won’t ever play with you again!!!!

At least they don’t fight about who gets to pray first. Somewhere I read this idea, so if it was from you, THANK YOU. If you happen to have 2 kids & one of them has a birthday on an even-numbered day & the other has a birthday on an odd-numbered day, then you’ve got it made. So, on even-numbered days of the month, Bean gets to go first. On odd-numbered days of the month, Peanut gets to go first. Once Tater Tot (that’s #3) gets here and is old enough to want to go first sometimes, this will wreck my system.



