life, craft, kids, crap…

Daily Archives: April 30, 2010

I started keeping a book list a few years ago because I wanted to keep track of what I’d read. I wanted to see patterns and be able to have something to jog my memory about a certain storyline or even a time of my life. Pretty quickly I set a goal for myself. A crazy goal of 40 books in one year.

And I did it. That’s nutty.

It was the year I was pregnant with Bean. In that year we had an international flight back to the States to visit family, lots of traveling around, and the international flight back overseas where we were living. I also was delivering in a city 6 hours from where we lived, so we moved to the Big City a month before my due date to wait. I didn’t know tons of people, it was stinkin hot (over 100 with no A/C!), and I was as big as a whale. So, in all of those things — I read. I didn’t realize the delicious privilege of reading without interruption or a small, but noisy alarm clock who would wake up early and demand to be fed. Forty books wasn’t hard for that time of my life. (Ok, plus…. quite a few of them were short enough for a hugely pregnant woman confined to the house in front of 3 fans and with a glass of iced something to read in a day or so.)

Then, we began the nomadic year. We moved back to the States, hopped from city to city and house to house, and finally settled here in New Orleans. And, I was pregnant again. I hoped to read 25 books. I barely made it! Then, for 2009, I set my goal at 18. For the second year in a row, I ignored my family and friends all day on New Year’s Eve as I devoured a book (or finished pieces of several books) to put me over my goal. Whew! I’m sticking with 18 books again this year. Sure, the kids are a teency bit less high-maintenance, but I have other babies I’m working on. (Nope, not pregnant! I’m talking about my new bidniz I’m working on…. I’ve got my state and federal paperwork in order and just have to plan a day to head over to the city/parish offices to finish up. Yay!)¬†

But, this year, I’ve noticed that I’m not choosing books the same way. In 2007, I literally read whatever I could find. We lived in a small town that had no English-language bookstores. So, we traded books, ordered Amazon books, and had friends ship in books. I was not picky. I got back and glutted myself on books I discovered at the library (Oh, wonderful library!) or books I bought on the bargain racks at B&N. This year, however, I’ve been a bit too metabiblial. (That means I think too much about my books. I made it up. I got a degree in English, so I’m qualified to do that.)

I wonder about what I’ll put on my list and what people will think of me. I’ve read quite a bit of puffy frou-frou books this year — partly because they’re around and partly because at the end of a day spent wiping up poop, I like a bit of puffy frou-frou. So, instead of worrying about random people coming to my blog and judging me or categorizing me for my book list, I’m going to try to go back to reading what I want whenever I want. So, there! (That was only directed to the judgey people. If you’re not judgey, please ignore my petty, elementary schoolish “So there!” And, yes, it was accompanied by my tongue stuck out.)

I’ve also decided that I want my list to be more of a list. So, periodically I’ll start sharing about books I read. Not today… this post is long enough. But, in the next few days, I’ll tell you about the tomes that have been taking up space on my nightstand. Some have been good, some great, some¬† just okay. I would also love to hear more from y’all about books that you’ve enjoyed. I’m running through my stack of “To Read” and need to add to the pile. Want to see what types of books I enjoy? Browse through the book lists. And let me know if you have any thoughts on any of them. Unless your thoughts are judgey. Because if they are, I’ll just stick my tongue out at you. So there!



