life, craft, kids, crap…

Daily Archives: August 28, 2008

It’s been awhile since the Communists have interfered in my life.* Either that, or they’re getting sneakier. However, Gustav is bearing upon us with his potential Category-3 rating (by the time he gets here) & so we’re packing up our house. More on why Gustav is a Communist later…

The anniversary of Katrina is this weekend, and people are obviously nervous. This storm is still days from landfall and may not even hit here. (There’s a 600 mile swath of coastland that could be affected…. we just happen to be in the middle of this 600 mile swath.) Still, tonight as a friend was trying to come home from work, traffic on the interstate was almost at a standstill because of the people evacuating early.

We have begun preparation to leave and will head out in the morning. It’s not just a matter of packing up. We’re on the 1st floor and our apartments got 12 feet of water when the levees broke. If the levees hold, we’ll be fine. If not, then I have to redo everything. And we’ll live as nomads until we can get back in the city and get it cleaned up. This could be 3 months. I don’t want to think about that. So, I’m praying that the levees hold.

Just in case there is any flooding, we have to get all valuables out of the house. We’re taking our fancy rugs and the hub’s heirloom desk upstairs to a neighbor. We have to clean out the fridge and toss everything. We have to get all trash out. We have to pack for a drive that normally takes 4-5 hours but could stretch into an all-day trek. Yeah. I think I’ll go watch a movie instead. All of this other stuff makes me stressed….

So, why is Gustav a tool of the Commies? We were living in Central Asia when Katrina happened. Our dear Central Asian friends tended to have more conspiracy theories than Dale Gribble. One friend told us with absolute certainty that Katrina was the fault of the Russians. They apparently have a weather weapon that they can aim anywhere and wreak havoc on their enemies. I guess Putin or some other high-ranking Russian official didn’t get enough beads at Mardi Gras and decided to aim their weather weapon here. Our friend (and several others) firmly believed that Katrina was the result of the Russian weather weapon.

At the time I didn’t believe her. Now, I’m not so sure….

Of course, Russia is “no longer” communist. Of course it’s “ridiculous” that they’d have a weather weapon. Of course you’d think if they do have one, they’d aim it at a “more important” target like New York City. But, that’s what they want you to believe. In the spirit of blaming others for something that is beyond anyone’s control, I am choosing to blame the Commies. They are disrupting my life. They are making me pack my house (again). They are causing me to possibly postpone the opening of my Etsy shop. They are really cramping my style. Since a storm is not an adequate target for all of my pent-up rage, I am choosing to focus on the Communists.

This is why I am sure that Gustav is a Communist.

To back up my friend’s “conspiracy theory,” I Googled Russian weather weapon Katrina. Here’s the results. Maybe it’s not a theory, but a fact….! You be the judge…

American meteorologist Scott Stevens has recently brought accusations against Russia

Katrina- a case of weather manipulation?

Cold-War Device Used to Cause Katrina?

And, the site of the guy who is referenced in all of those other articles:

Weather Wars!

I’ll post again once we reach our destination and settle in. Until then, happy Conspiracy-Theory Reading to you all.

*If you’re a relatively new mabBlab reader, check out the categories on the side. Choose the one entitled “Communist Plots Against Me” to read the back stories.



